The Eversdens' Past
The two parishes of Great and Little Eversden have been associated from the earliest times. The name `Eversden` is mentioned in the Domesday Book as `Eversdona` meaning Hill of the Wild Boar. The boar's head being the obvious choice for the village logo.
Before World War Two there were 4 farms in Little and 9 in Great. The farming was mainly arable with sheep and fruit. Eversden greengages were unique being grown only in one other area, the Vale of Evesham.
The oldest houses were built from lath and plaster and clunch with thatched roofs. Bricks were not used until later. Clunch was a local building material, quarried in blocks in Little. It was not entirely frostproof although some remains today notably in the graveyard wall in St.Mary`s church and the cottages beside the Post Office Shop.
St Mary`s Church in Great was badly damaged by fire after being struck by lightning in 1466. It was rebuilt in the late 15th or early 16th centuries and restored in 1864 and 1920. St Helen`s in Little Eversden dates from the 14th and 15th centuries and was restored in 1891-2. Both churches are in regular use with services rotating between them.
Some more historical snippets
|Sundry Parish Council Issues||Some dead and buried, some rumbling on|
|Tail Corn||Tail Corn is not in the past but its origins are.|
|John White d.16th December 2013||This tribute refers only to John's work as Village Hall chairman. There is much more.|
|"The Eversdens - a snapshot" The DVD||Over 100 copies of this were sold for the Village Hall.|
|My Life by Terry Osborne||Read Terry's fascinating account of his experience of growing up in the country (11.8.09)|
|More on Roman Eversden||Link to Dominic Shelley's account of his experiences searching The Eversdens for signs of the Romans (23.6.09)|
|Pte Pauley's short life||Louise Thompson has mined the internet and local archives with outstanding success (3.6.09)|
|From Mike Petty's "Looking Back"||A few Eversdens incidents from the pages of the Cambridge Evening News 1897 onwards (28.7.08)|
|Another Dornier incident 1941||Breakfast rudely interrupted at Five Gables Farm by a bombing raid on a momentous day in 1940 (26.7.08)|
|Dornier Shot Down 1942||In 1942 a Dornier was shot down on the hill (West of the A603) after a bombing raid on Cambridge (20.7.08)|
|Pte Pauley's memorial||St Helen's churchyard has a memorial stone , too. Who was Private Pauley? Do you know? (24.8.07)|
|Pte Wallis's Grave||St Mary's churchyard has a war grave. Who was Private Wallis? Do you know? (4.5.07)|
|Great Eversden||A background to the beginning of Great Eversden by Sue Oosthuizen|
|The Leete Family||The history of the Leete family who were based in the Eversden's|
|Eversden Manor||An Inventory of Eversden Manor House (1397) by Sue Oosthuizen..|
|Roman Eversden||A page of pictures showing an investigative dig in Great Eversden (21 8.06)|
|Francis Holcroft||Reference to Francis Holcroft (1633 - 1692) whose plaque is in the village hall. (For more, key his name into Google) (5.9.06)|
|And for an intimate look at The Eversdens' past, read Quiet Lanes and Orchard Ends, the book of the Eversdens, produced and printed for the Millennium.|